Mini Crustless Quiche with Rainbow Chard, Bacon, and Feta

How I managed to snap 102 photos of Quiche and various Quiche-making steps has me a little perplexed.

To my best recollection, I snapped a few photos of the beautiful chard I harvested from my garden, a few photos of the process, and then spent a few minutes styling the plate and snapping a few more when the Quiche came out of the oven. Apparently not. My camera does not lie.

So I went a little overboard, but who wouldn’t with beautiful rainbow chard fresh from the garden baked into a delicious mini crustless Quiche along with feta cheese, bacon, and a tomato slice on top? Knowing I was going to love these and want to make them again I kept a pencil and notepad handy to keep track of the recipe as I went along. I’m glad I did, they are scrumptious.

I shared these at a recent craft meetup where I was reminded that some don’t eat pork. Oops. I felt a little bad, but it meant more for the rest of us. I think next time I’ll try them without the bacon and add another seasonal veggie in its place. I think they’d be wonderful with zucchini.

Note: You have been spared the superfluous Quiche photos– you can thank me later. Quiche-making is not complicated and you don’t need a photo tutorial, nor do you need to see photos of the same piece of Quiche at every angle imaginable. I will however share photos of my garden another time, when I manage to get around to my yearly gardening post.

Mini Crustless Quiché with Rainbow Chard, Bacon, and Feta

Makes 24 mini Quiche.

Ingredients:

1 bunch rainbow chard, stems removed and diced separately from leaves; leaves chopped
1 small red onion, minced
6 slices uncured bacon, diced
8 large eggs
1/4 cup half and half
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup feta cheese
2-3 Roma tomatoes, sliced into 24 thin rounds
cooking spray, butter, or olive oil to grease muffin tins
minced parsley and thinly sliced green onions, for quiche beautification purposes (tasty, too.)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large skillet, sauté bacon over medium-high heat until fat has rendered out, about 5 minutes. Remove cooked bacon with a slotted spoon and drain most of fat out of the pan, leaving a thin coating in the pan to cook the veggies in.

Add onions and diced chard stems to the skillet. Cook over medium-high heat until onions and chard soften and become translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the chopped chard leaves and toss  with the onions and stems until the chard wilts, about 2-3 minutes, over medium-low heat so that the chard does not brown or become crispy. When soft, add the bacon back to the pan, stir to combine and remove pan from heat.

In a large bowl, add the half and half, salt, and pepper to the eggs and beat with a whisk until eggs are well-combined and bubbles form on the top. Stir in the feta cheese. Stir in the bacon and veggie mixture.

Prepare two standard muffin tins by spraying with cooking spray or greasing with butter or olive oil. Spoon the egg mixture into each section about half-way up making sure to have about the same amount of veggies and eggs in each.

Gently top each mini quiche with a tomato slice.

Bake for 20-25 minutes at 325 degrees until Quiches are lightly browned and top has set. Cool for at least 10 minutes, or until you can safely handle the pan.

To remove, run a sharp paring knife around the edge of each muffin cup and gently invert pan over a cutting board to release.

Garnish Quiches with a sprinkle of parsley and thinly sliced scallions, if desired. Best served at room temperature.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Eileen said,

    I totally ignored the porky potential and tricked myself into thinking it was turkey. It’s all good, they really are incredibly delicious. Aaron claims he doesn’t like quiche, but I bet he would gobble these up. Maybe my problem is that I don’t cook with bacon enough ;).
    On the picture front–how have I managed to not only take hundred of pictures of my cat, but also pictures of every single one our animals that I have met? Mr. Tucker is even in my blog! It is hard to stop taking pictures with digital cameras, and makes picking out the perfect ones that much easier.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

