The Cure To Boredom

Sunday afternoon. Sitting in the living room. I’m bored. M runs through a list of many things we could do, all of which I shoot down. (I don’t feel like doing thaaaat!) Until he suggests watercolors. Hmm…that sounds fun, actually!

So I dig around and find some of  my (cheap) brushes.

We head over to the craft store to buy (cheap) watercolors and watercolor paper.

Masterpieces are made. Above is M’s first creation of the night: New Mexico.

And his second– er– masterpiece: Our house. (The red, white and blue blob in the upper left corner is supposed to be me. I’m watering my garden. Tucker the dog also makes an appearance. He’s the black blob with ears and a tail.) Yes folks, this is the work of an adult.

And mine: After diddling around and not being able to come up with any ideas, I conjured up a place that would make me feel peaceful. I’d love to be perched under that tree with a book and an apple.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jessie said,

    Those are great! M’s second effort would be my skill level 🙂 Though, there was one time in art class back in high school I did pretty good with a jungle tree theme with watercolors, doing the trees and vines, and using ink (like quill and ink bottle ink and everything) doing the outlines and such, that was fun.

    Looks like you guys had a blast though. What a great way to spend some time together 😀

  2. 2

    Malia said,

    This is inspiring. I tend to shy away from these kinds of art projects because I’m unwilling to deal with the inevitable clean-up but I’m beginning to think that it would be worth it so that I could have some masterpieces from my kinds hanging up around the house!

  3. 3

    M said,

    I would like to point out that I produced exactly twice as much art during this time period.

  4. 4

    julee said,

    Kiki, that is so pretty! Like the above poster, I’m about on M’s level when it comes to creating masterpieces. (Though I probably could have produced at least 4 pieces during the time period.) 😛


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

