Lepidoptera Lesson

Butthead. That’s what I nicknamed this one and I think it’s appropriate. When I saw this butterfly sitting on my pepper plant the other day I couldn’t help but notice that its ass rear antenna was twitching. Please pardon the language, but there really isn’t a better way to describe it.

If you look at the red spots on the posterior part of the wing, you’ll note that this butterfly has a second, false head, including a set of antennae. Now, how cool is that?

Am I the only one who didn’t learn about this back in elementary school? For anyone else who may have been absent, it’s to help protect the butterfly against predators. Since the predator attacks at the head, having a second one helps confuse the predator and gives the butterfly a chance to get away. Isn’t nature amazing?

(For interested parties, this is a Hairstreak butterfly, most likely the Banded Hairstreak.)

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I have to admit, I didn’t know this until now! Thanks for the information and the shot! It’s great.

  2. 2

    […] attract the butterflies last year so it is definitely included! (See here, here, here, here, and here. Oh, and here too.) Shall I add that it was much less stressful photographing butterflies in a […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

