Harvest 9/1/10

It’s hard to believe it’s already September. Though it may be cliche to say so, the Summer has once again flown by. Numbered are the warm nights spent on the porch watching the moon rise…

The garden has been generous with the peppers this season– most definitely because of the unrelenting heat and not because of skill on the part of the gardener.

Have you ever seen an okra flower? Quite lovely, I believe!

I’ve been clipping handfuls of herbs, binding them with twine, and hanging them to dry. This night I tackle rosemary and pineapple sage.

The mosquitoes have been even more relentless than the heat so I surround myself with candles while I work. Every so often a bit of sage might slip from my grasp and land in the flame. Such a lovely smell it creates.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    What a lovely bloom from the okra! I have never seen an okra bloom, so sweet!

    You will really enjoy those herbs this winter, you can dream of summer day while cooking!

    Thanks for sharing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

