Moths of the Lantana

Outside in the front garden, a lace-like flower called Lantana (Lantana camara) surrounds the bird bath.

I love these little fluted flowers. Tiny bouquets of brilliant reds, pinks, oranges, and yellows.

The flowers start all bundled up in little pillows. I imagine when they open, they unfurl like the little cardboard and paper blowouts that you often see at kid’s birthday parties. Some people call them “ham and eggs.” I can see that too.

Among the Lantana live these moths. I’ve counted at least twenty.

They flit around from flower to flower, tending to each one.

Dipping their tongues inside to drink up the sweet nectar.

It’s almost as if they can’t get enough.

Drink up, little moths!

I asked M if he thought they lived in my butterfly house, but the other night we discovered that they sleep beneath the Lantana leaves, never wanting to stray far from their habitat.

When the sun shines brightly and you catch the right angle you can see all the breathtakingly beautiful colors in their wings. I think I could photograph them for hours…

If you happen to know what type of moth these are, would you mind commenting/emailing me and letting me know?

Edited to add 9/07/10:

These aren’t moths! I found it odd that they were out during the day and so active, and after looking at lists of butterflies local to this region, I have narrowed down that they are some sort of Skipper (Hesperiinae family) but have not been able to make an exact identification.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Great shots here! Love the little guys and the way you’ve captured them.

  2. 2

    I have no idea about the moths! But we have lantana here, lots of it because it grows and flowers so well. But it looks like you have a different variety, I haven’t seen yours here anywhere. I love it!

  3. 3

    […] butterflies last year so it is definitely included! (See here, here, here, here, and here. Oh, and here too.) Shall I add that it was much less stressful photographing butterflies in a closed location […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

