Gardening 201

Those of you that follow the blog regularly know that M and I bought a house last Fall. In the past (See Gardening 101 and Gardening 102) I had various attempts (and varying successes) with container gardening. Now that I have a real yard, this year I’m doing container gardening on a much bigger scale- raised beds.

Can I just say how excited I am about this whole endeavor? Since M is not a master carpenter, we cheated a little, and bought two raised bed garden kits from Costco. It really did help having everything together in a box– no drafting patterns, measuring, or cutting required. Easy work, actually.

The hard part was cutting up the sod from the side yard. Miserable, I tell you.

Mr. Tucker spent most of the project time napping, rolling around in the dirt, barking at passers-by, and attempting to eat bumble bees.

An obscene amount of soil was purchased– enough for two  8′ by 4′ by 12″ beds.

I can’t even begin to tell you how much blood, sweat, and sunscreen has been invested in this project. Have you ever had a home-grown heirloom tomato, ripened on the vine, and freshly picked just before eating? That’s what makes it all worth it.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    julee said,

    Looks great, K! You inspire me, and I can’t wait to see pics of the progression.

  2. 2

    Michaela said,

    Looking forward to more pics!!! It looks fantastic already!!!

  3. 3

    tammy said,

    congratulations! I exhausted myself doing the same exact thing last year to my new backyard with a 8×16 raised bed, so much work! Helpful advice: it might have been cheaper and easier for a local nursery to deliver topsoil right to your home. They usually sell it by the cubic yard and sometimes can even dump it right into your garden. Try to harvest and store any seeds from your veggies this year so you’ll have free seeds for next year and start a compost heap if you feel ambitious. Good luck!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

