A Tour of my Sewing/Art/Crafty Studio

What I love about my studio space is that it is entirely my own. When we rented an apartment, my creative workspace was shared with a guest room, home office, and storage space. I didn’t have room to spread out and really get into whatever I was working on. If I made a mess (which lets be honest, I am a messy crafter) it was always in someone else’s way. Also the room was very beige. With a southwestern print futon. And frilly curtains. And no light. It wasn’t me at all and I felt stifled.

When choosing the color for this room, I wanted something to inspire me. I knew I wanted something bright, and fun, and happy. I also wanted it to be undeniably me. It was a natural choice to pick this Grassy Meadow green. Like most things, the studio is a work in progress. I have a barely-started painting hung on the wall. When it’s finally finished it will have the same funky flowers that I designed for my blog header.

This corner of the room is where I like to work on paper crafting and writing projects. I have all of my card-making, rubber stamping, and scrapbooking supplies in the closet, and the most-used items like markers, pre-cut cards, and envelopes are stored on the low bookshelf. Eventually the closet will have shelves installed, but for now everything is stored in plastic storage drawer systems. This is also where I like to write and blog as well as work on graphic design projects. I have a laptop so it’s easily moved from the work table when I’m not using it. I keep my reference books for writing and design on the far right side of the bookshelf so I can easily get whatever I need without disrupting my work flow.

The tablecloth is a vintage piece that my mom and dad received as a wedding gift when they got married in 1972. It’s been in her linen closet since then. She found it this fall when she was reorganizing and it went so perfectly with the color of my recently-painted walls that I had to figure out some way to use it. It’s not practical to do crafts or projects on, but it dresses up the table nicely when I’m doing computer work.

This corner of the room I use for sewing projects and organization. When I’m cutting fabric or tracing a pattern, I usually sit at the end of the table so that I have easy access to my tools and the desk that my sewing machine sits on. I’d love to build some sort of storage rack on this wall so that I can hang my various rulers and t-square. To the right of  the bookshelf is my sewing table that houses my sewing machine and things like bobbins, needles, and different machine feet.

Life will be much easier when I get a proper sewing chair– hopefully one with casters– and no longer have to borrow a chair from the kitchen.

I have the room set up so that I can easily move from my sewing machine to my ironing board to my work table without encountering any obstacles other than the occasional appearance of the lazy pup.

The tall bookshelf holds my various fabric on the left side and books, notions, and tools on the right.

I try to keep everything neatly folded and organized. Having an unorganized workspace drives me a little batty and so I try to put everything back where it belongs when I’m finished with a project. In the midst of a project, all hell breaks loose.

Everything in its place and a place for everything!

I hope you enjoyed my studio tour! I’ll continue to post pictures as I complete projects or change/add things. I’m still trying to figure out what kind of curtains I want to make, so if you have any suggestions I’d love to hear them!

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Alyssa said,

    Great job! So organized, nice and neat! 🙂

    P.S. Thanks so much for the cute little St. Valentine’s Day card! The coupons were awesome too!

  2. 2

    Wow – I love your space! That green is soooooooo awesome with all of the white trim and accessories. I bet you love spending time in your room!

  3. 3

    julee said,

    LOVE how it has turned out! So pretty! So spacious!

    I don’t know how this will work, but what about hanging those little clippie curtain hooks to your table cloth and use it as a curtain on one window? I love the look of non-matchy-matchy curtains on windows that are on different walls. It’s so beautiful, I think it’ll look like a piece of art on the wall!

  4. 4

    booksNyarn said,

    This is SUCH an amazing and inspiring space. I love the color. I wish I had a craft area, since behind the door to the living room, while that is where my yarn is, doesn’t count. 🙂

  5. 5

    2hippos said,

    Your pace looks incredible!!

  6. 6

    ara jane said,

    what a beautiful, not to mention well-organized, space! i love it. and like your studio, i am also a bit green… with envy! thinking i need to get my act together and put together some kind of functional sewing room.

  7. 7

    Lia said,

    you’re killing me with jealousy….:'( that is such a beautiful crafty space…so organized too…ooooo the things one can do in such a big and organized room :)….

  8. 8

    sewbeeit said,

    I love the green and that tablecloth is a real treasure. Your puppy dog is super cute too. What a great space to work. So neat!

  9. 9

    Michelle Leitinger said,

    WOW – it is absolutely beautifull, your dog is adorable too!

  10. 10

    April F. said,

    Wow – what a beautiful space! Love that color green. So peaceful and calming. Can’t wait to hear what crafts you’re inspired to work on there!

  11. 11

    Maranda said,

    LOVE the needlework and your craft room is amazing. I wish that I was that organized.:)

  12. 12

    Elizabeth said,

    Oh, I’m so jealous! Your room is really amazing and I hope to have something so awesome one day too. My husband has an accepted a job working outside of the home for the first time since we moved here, so maybe I can convert a portion of his home office into my own little crafty corner. Thanks for the great inspiration!

  13. 13

    lanea said,

    Beautiful! I love your wall color, and how open and organized everything is. Now I really want to pick out some paint and get rid of some stuff in my studio.

  14. 14

    Rebekah said,

    your space looks fantastic! It’s hard to be in a creative rut when you’re surrounded by such a creative color and so many fantastic supplies, right?

  15. 15

    Dani said,

    this space is amazing! so spacious and cheerful. i wish i could have this as my sewing studio.

  16. 16

    Deadra Oxner said,

    fibroids miracle download


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

