The Calm Before the Storm

I believe my Christmas prayer has indeed been answered, unfortunately, I wasn’t quite prepared for it…

This year I’ve been harried, grumpy, and short-tempered. The season hasn’t brought the same joy this year as it has for others. It’s not the economy or anything that can easily be explained away, but something deep within my soul that hasn’t been quite right.

It was not a white Christmas that I prayed for. This year I prayed for time. Time to catch up on Christmas cards, holiday baking, and tidying up the corners of the house. Time to reflect, to light Advent candles. Time to be with family. For the world to slow down, even for just a bit, so that I could catch up with the turning and feel that my feet are planted solid on the Earth as I walk into Christmas.

Now it looks like my prayer has been answered. I’m secretly looking forward to the blizzard that is about to cripple the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic today. But it brings about a new prayer- one of safety, warmth, health and security for all of those who look out their windows this morning and find themselves surrounded in a winter wonderland.

Be safe, and be merry!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Green Lasagna, kikiverde. kikiverde said: The Calm Before the Storm: http://wp.me/pelhv-pd […]

  2. 2

    2hippos said,

    Enjoy the blizzard/time!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

