Decking the Halls

I hope everyone had a safe, happy, and healthy Thanksgiving holiday. Now, the burning question: Have you started decorating for Christmas yet?

On Sunday, M and I decorated our front porch. While he braved the ladder to hang LED twinkle lights, I wrapped posts with garland and satin bows, arranged pine cones in the empty planter boxes, and tossed the occasional frisbee over to Mr. Tucker. Once it grew dark and the work outside was done, we enjoyed some hot cocoa and Christmas carols while we put up our tree.

I’ve got so much to do to prepare for the holiday…already I feel as if I’ve fallen behind. Christmas cards are only a few fragmented ideas in the back corners of my mind, ornament gifts remain yards of fabric folded in stacks on my sewing room table, and I haven’t even stocked up on baking supplies– and there is a party already on Friday! I keep reminding myself that only the first advent candle has been lit and that time remains aplenty to prepare for the tiny nuances of Christmas that should only bring joy, not stress, to the season.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    julee said,

    I’m so excited for you guys to spend your first Christmas in your new home!

    As for me, I can’t even *think* about getting the boxes of decorations out until my last final is completed this week.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

