Pansies Put to Bed

pansies

Last weekend at the Washington DC Green Festival, I purchased some eco-tulips from an organic grower in Holland. I bought three varieties of tulip- Gabor, Purple Prince, and Yellow Flight. The vendor had so many lovely choices I found it very difficult to decide. Luckily, these three varieties came packaged together in a cardboard egg-carton, so it made the decision a little easier.

I wanted to get them in the ground right away since this is the perfect time for planting tulips, but of course none of the existing flower beds were “right.” And so began the work of putting in a new bed around the Crabapple tree in the front yard. In my mind, I was just going to dig up the area, line it,(all by myself, of course) and voila, it’s a flower bed…

Not so.

Not. at. all. so!

First of all, I couldn’t get enough power behind the shovel to even make a dent in our hard, clay-filled soil. Luckily, I had a strong man around who did most of the hard work (and at no cost, lol!) and allowed me to take 99% of the credit. Once all of the work had been done to get the tulips into the ground and covered, we stood back to admire our work only to find it was just an empty bed with no color.

Off Lowe’s we went for the umpteenth time that weekend, where we picked up some pansies to help finish off the bed without taking it over in the Spring when the bulbs will come up. I’m so excited to see what the finished product will look like, but must wait another 6 months or so. In the meantime, I really need to read up on my dad’s gardening books. I’ve got a lot to learn!

Leave a Reply

