My Creative Space

I haven’t blogged about many of my crafty projects lately, but it’s not for lack of working on them. I’ve been scattered lately, flitting from one thing to another without really finishing anything.

I’ve been working on making more makeup remover/astringent pads (0riginally blogged here) and spent quite some time meticulously cutting out fabric squares. I want to make some more for the bathroom as well as a set for traveling.

makeupremoverpads

I’ve also been working on my water bottle sling. I had to lengthen the pattern a bit to fit my larger Klean Kanteen

bottleslingpattern

I wanted to embroider something slightly different than the pattern suggested, but still wanted something flowery. I decided on something simple, and tried to pull my three favorite colors from the fabric.

bottleslingembroidery

All that’s left to do is sew it together. For me, the sewing part always goes the fastest, and it’s the prep work that seems to take forever and a day.

Also in my creative space is an almost fat-quarter from Ronit at Two Hippos. It’s from the Ironworks collection and just so happens to match perfectly the green dots print that I received earlier this month from Julee and her daughter A. Any suggestions for what to make?

ronitfatquarter

So that’s it– my creative space. Not a lot of new stuff going on, but enjoyable and rewarding projects nonetheless!

For more creative spaces, be sure to check out Kirsty’s blog kootoyoo and the Mr. Linky full of mycreativespacers.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    handmaiden said,

    oh you are very busy today

  2. 2

    Katy said,

    Bust Bee… the drink holder sonds very cool. My pick for any beautiful matching fabric is to make a purse! But that’s a bit boring 🙂

  3. 3

    sophie said,

    That bottle holder is going to look fantastic when it’s sewn. Looking forward to seeing it done.

  4. 4

    2hippos said,

    I’m glad to know the fabric has arrived and has a fun companion! Maybe a bag of some sort?

  5. 5

    Kirsty said,

    I really like the idea of the washable makeup pads.

  6. 6

    Gina said,

    Nice to get the chance to meet you through this meme. I too like the washable makeup pads (not that I wear makeup, but I like the concept of making reuseable stuff). IS that bottle sling from Betz White’s book?

  7. 7

    Lucy Bowler said,

    It’s a very busy space! The water bottle holder pattern looks great, so well drafted!!

  8. 8

    Kiki said,

    @2hippos- Thanks again! I love the fabric and can’t wait to use it!
    @Gina- Yes, it’s the pattern from Betz White’s book.
    @Lucy- I can’t take credit for the pattern drafting, though I’d love to! I only added on the two inches at the bottom 🙂

  9. 9

    Jemma said,

    The makeup remover pads are an awesome idea 😀

  10. 10

    Christina said,

    I know about flitting from one thing to the next. I have a few projects now and I have promised myself to finish some of them before I start any more! 🙂

  11. 11

    melanie said,

    eye make up remove pads are awesome, way to go, yay.
    the fabric screams bag, definately bag.

  12. 12

    I love the green fabric! How about for the bottle sling? I can also see hot pads/potholders and towels (I know boring!). Apron?

    I love your idea for the makeup remover pads!

  13. 13

    love your fabric.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

