Sans Sun Tea

sunless-tea

A few years ago I saw a segment on the news about how sun tea was dangerous because the lukewarm water sitting out all day in the sun was a prime environment for breeding bacteria in the tea leaves. Since then, I’ve given up sun tea and started brewing cold-water tea in the fridge. And you know what? I actually like it better!

Here’s how to make it:

Fill a carafe with water. Plop in a few tea bags, and stow away in the fridge for a few hours. When brewed to your desired strength, remove the tea bags and serve over ice. Not nearly as poetic, but I’d rather do without possible gastro-intestinal distress, wouldn’t you?

refreshing

Lately our favorite flavor combination has been two bags of Choice White Peony tea and a bag of either Stash Acai Berry tea or Tazo Wild Sweet Orange tea. We like to garnish with Orange Mint, Lemon Balm, or some Lemon Verbena from our herb garden. It’s delicious and wonderfully refreshing on even the hottest of days.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    maria said,

    great post! this does work so well, and what i like most is that it “works” while you sleep… throw it in the fridge at night, and voila, next morning, perfect iced tea. Your carafe is beautiful, by the way!

  2. 2

    Kristi said,

    Nice to know this works. Admittedly I have gone the sun tea route for several years, but then I lick cake batter off the beaters too. 🙂

    And I LOVE the carafe! Want, want, want…

  3. 3

    Kiki said,

    I think I got that carafe from Walmart, actually. It’s been a few years, but I’m pretty sure that’s where I found it.

  4. 4

    Kristi said,

    I found a similar one through Lehman’s! Hooray!

    Plus, you have now reminded me of a good use for my lemon balm.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

