Reusable Cloth Make-up Remover Pads

makeupremoverpads

Have you seen the tutorial on the Sproutz store blog for these charming reusable make-up remover pads? I was inspired the moment I saw them and knew I just had to make a set for myself.

Yesterday it rained– poured, actually, and I decided it was the perfect day to go fabric shopping. I wanted fabrics that coordinated with my bathroom which has shades of butter and charcoal with purple accents. (Strange, but it works.) After about an hour of debating between three different colors of minky and even more fabric that coordinated with it all, I found this Heidi Grace print called “Sand Dollars”  from her Beyond the Sea line. The moment I laid eyes on it, I knew it was perfect for this project.

I think I might need to practice making a few more of these for myself before I feel comfortable enough making any to give away as gifts, but wouldn’t they be just perfect paired along with a coordinating travel toiletry bag?

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Alicia said,

    Those are so cute!

    I really like the idea of these! I’ve been using those disposable cotton pads every night to rub witch hazel over my face. These look like they would be much softer and nicer on ‘ol Mother Earth.

    Hmmm….I might try subbing flannel for the minky b/c that’s what I have on hand….oh fun….

  2. 2

    ~julee~ said,

    They look great! Now you can check one summer project off your too-long to-do list. 🙂

  3. 3

    Allison said,

    Thanks for stopping by and saying hello! That candle warmer is one I bought along time ago in Idaho, I think they sell them at Bed Bath and Beyond now though. Its really nice, it only releases the sent and not the smoke and other junk into the air. I love it! -Allison

  4. 4

    Kate said,

    Ohh, what a neat idea! Thanks for the comment on my blog, I’m glad you stopped by! Mmmm… fabric. shopping. What a glorious past-time! My problem is I keep collecting and collecting, and never seem to get around to using it all… 😀 *sheepish grin*

    ~Kate~

  5. 5

    Abby said,

    I love these…….I need to get on this project right away.

  6. 6

    Kiki said,

    Alicia, I think flannel would work just fine- in fact it’s probably easier to work with than the slinky minky.

    Kate- I know exactly what you mean 😀 LOL!

  7. 7

    What a great idea! I’m always amazed at the creative things people come up with.

  8. 9

    […] been working on making more makeup remover/astringent pads (0riginally blogged here) and spent quite some time meticulously cutting out fabric squares. I want to make some more for […]

  9. 10

    Amanda said,

    The link says you have to be invited to the blog :(. I’d really like this pattern!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

