June Projects

junebooks

I love books. I love book shops. If I bought all of the books I wanted to buy (or even just books that I read) I’d be fast on my way to broke. M likes to describe me to others as a library power-user, and I’m ok with that. I love that I can walk into the library, pick up anything I want, and take it home with me. A card gets swiped, but there’s no bill at the end of the month. This stack is what I’ll probably consume in June- maybe a few more, maybe a few less. One thing about library books is that if I find I’m not interested in a book after a few chapters I have no qualms about sending it back to them without finishing it.

Book list for June:
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn– Betty Smith
The Secret Scripture– Sebastian Barry
Off-Street Parking– Bill James
Sea of Poppies– Amitav Ghosh
A Fortunate Age– Joanna Smith Rakoff
What the Dead Know– Laura Lippman
Confessions of an Eco-Sinner– Fred Pearce
The Color of Lightning– Paulette Jiles

Crafty things:

On the crafty front, I have a bookmarks folder that is bursting at the seams with projects I’d love to complete. My June focus is to make some things that I need as well as some things to help build my sewing skills. I’ll be blogging these as I work on them.

Sewing project list for June:
water bottle sling (from Sewing Green by Betz White)
Tokyo tie bag (from Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp)
zippered pencil case
makeup remover pads
reusable produce bags from leftover wedding tulle
lingerie bag from repurposed sheer curtain material

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ~julee~ said,

    “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” has been on my want-to-read list for *years*. I’d love to know what you think of it when you’re done.

    Happy reading and crafting this summer – it’s a great time for both!

  2. 2

    Kristi said,

    Love this post! As a librarian – I totally approve of library power-users! 🙂

    I’ll be excited to follow your posts on the sewing projects. My goal this summer is to sew “something useful” to break in my newish sewing machine that has only hemmed curtains. Of course, that will be in between gardening, cooking, canning, and all the summer moments two children bring!

  3. 3

    Kiki said,

    Juju- will definitely let you know how I like the book!

    Thanks Kristi- I’m glad to know that someone “in charge” approves! LOL! What are you planning on canning this year?

  4. 4

    Kristi said,

    Kiki – I just started canning this past summer – did applesauce, apple butter and fruit jams. I would love to try tomatoes this summer – sauces and whole this season.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

