Giveaway Day has Arrived!

Welcome Sew, Mama, Sew Giveaway Day readers! Today I am offering up two different giveaway prizes.

MayGiveawayDay

Giveaway #1 is a Blue Bird pincushion that is made out of recycled materials. It’s a bottle cap cushion, so it’s small and tucks away nicely in the corner of an embroidery box organizer.

bluebirdiecushion

pincushionwithpins

pincushioncase

Giveaway #2 is a grab bag of small crafty goodies. I’ll be including some fat quarters, ribbon, buttons, paper-crafting embellishments, and maybe a few other little surprises.

craftysupplies

fatquarters

To enter: Just post a comment in this thread and share something fun or interesting. It can be anything- telling about the project you’ve been working on lately, a favorite blog link, your fabric fabric, or even your favorite book or recipe!

The giveaway will remain open until May 31. I’ll randomly draw winning post numbers on June 1st and contact the winners. Make sure I have a way that I can contact you- if you don’t have a blog that your comment will link back to, be sure to leave your real email address in the comment form when you fill it out. (I won’t spam you, I promise!) And sorry to the international folks, but I won’t be able to ship internationally for this giveaway.

Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

185 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cheryl said,

    I just stumbled in to your wonderful giveaway! That blue bird is so darn cute. Please throw my name into the hat. I would be thrilled to win either prize.

    Stop by my blog for a wee giveaway of a hand stitched finger puppet.

  2. 2

    2hippos said,

    The giveaway looks great, especially the grab bag of goodies πŸ™‚

  3. 3

    peaceliving said,

    Those goodies look great! The bird reminds me of a kewpie doll with the pins in her head! Poor birdie!

  4. 4

    ilja said,

    The Blue Bird pincushion is so cute i would be happy to win either one!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    iljaze@gmail.com

  5. 5

    Jingle said,

    If you like to cook you just may love Diane Mott Davidson’s books! Have you read them? I just finished her latest, Fatally Flaky and it was so fun to read! Some great recipes, too!

  6. 6

    adkmama said,

    That Bird is beyond adorable….what a splendid idea.

    I am doing a participating as well, happy giving away to you.

    Truly, Julia

  7. 7

    Kristin Beckwith said,

    I love the fabrics you posted. I have really enjoyed the flickr quilting pools recently, especially the coin quilt. Nice blog, I’ll be sure to revisit soon.

  8. 8

    Jessica said,

    Thanks, what a great giveaway! I love the bird!
    I’m currently working on fleece floor pillows for my 3 boys.

  9. 9

    leisel said,

    I love the giveaway! Ummm you want me to pick just one favorite fabric? I am completely addicted to fabric! I can’t wait to see the new lines from quilt market. . .

  10. 10

    angela said,

    Holy Wow, that birdie is adorable! And I am at a complete loss for something interesting to say πŸ™‚ I’m a spinner and knitter (My hardcore quilting is on hiatus until my daughter is old enough to play more independently hehe) – but I’ve been sewing fun project bags to carry my smaller projects around in. I love finding that perfect fat quarter for the next cute little bag.

  11. 11

    Oh my goodness! That bird pincushion is so cute! And those crafting goodies, *drool*.

    Something interesting about myself… Hmmmm. Okay:
    My most embarrassing moment.
    In high school I went to only one football game, being a drama kid. I “spirited” myself out in our school colors and even painted my face. The school was playing a school that was somewhat local and they were losing badly. My friend knew someone at the other school and so she kept dragging me over to the visitor side looking for her fried. Every time she drug me over there I was getting booed and hissed at and even cussed at. About the third time she took me over there I got fed up, turned to the crowd while leaving, threw up my arms and screamed, “Go N.U.!” and tripped over a trash can and fell on my face.
    The laughter was deafening.

  12. 12

    BabkaGal said,

    Thanks for hosting such a great giveaway! I’m currently working on a jellyroll quilt as a gift for a friend’s wedding. I hope I can finish it in time!

  13. 13

    Lesley said,

    oooh keeping my fingers crossed, and I’ve bookmarked your blog! So glad I found you through this giveaway!

    Thanks so much!

    http://kensingtonblue.com

  14. 14

    Ashlee said,

    What a generous giveaway!!! My favorite craft project these days is decoupage. Although tonight I will be making some felted beads for the first time.

  15. 15

    roseread said,

    The best part of giveaway day has been discovering so many great blogs πŸ™‚

  16. 16

    SugarMama said,

    Your blog is darling! I love the giveaway, especially the little bird. My little son just started signing bird recently. Come on over to my blog for an apron giveaway, if you’re inclined! I’m drooling over the recipe below this post.

  17. 17

    carrie said,

    That bird is cracking me up! Such a great giveaway. Come visit mine…it’s all about the surprise!

  18. 18

    Deanna said,

    I feel like I need to win so I can save that poor bird’s head. How cute is he?

  19. 20

    academama said,

    I love the birdie!

  20. 21

    Evelyn said,

    Nice give-away! (I’m having one too – hop over to my blog to check it out). And OMG – I wish I hadn’t scrolled down far enough to see those peaches and cream muffins. Now I’m staving AND I must make them next weekend!! Darn you to heck! πŸ™‚

  21. 22

    seemommysew said,

    how fun! The birdie is too cute…I think I would feel bad putting pins in him!

  22. 23

    Emily said,

    What awesome giveaways! I just started quilting, so I guess my fun fact is that I’m still learning to sew straight, hahaha! Thanks!

  23. 24

    Cindi said,

    Great giveaways! The Blue Bird Pincushion is absolutely adorable! Your recipe for the Peaches and Cream Muffins is great! Thanks, Cindi

  24. 25

    Jenny Kim said,

    i love the grab bag! πŸ™‚

  25. 26

    Sarah said,

    Love that little bird…I too can’t stand to see him with those sharp implements in his head…he is too cute looking for that sort of treatment!

  26. 27

    Kara said,

    I love the bird and I’m always in need of ribbons and sewing odds and ends. Right now I’m working on my first skirt.

  27. 28

    Jo said,

    Fun, fun, fun!

  28. 29

    Brooke said,

    I love to watch movies when I sew, but have to make sure they have happy endings. Nothing worse than a crying jag that interrupts sewing time!

  29. 30

    Crossing my fingers!

  30. 31

    Jenna H. said,

    I’ve made the same cookies (with a couple modifications) twice in as many weeks because they were that good! Found them on the “Cookie Madness” blog – check it out if you like cookies – and who doesn’t?

    Thanks for the giveaway.

  31. 32

    kate said,

    That fabric you’re giving away is great!

    Let’s see….something fun to share….the lilacs are blooming and they are sooo beautiful and fragrent. Love that. Happy, happy spring!!

  32. 33

    I love love love your birdie pincushion. I would love a chance to win!!!

  33. 34

    Wendymoon said,

    That bird is so cute, I don’t know if I could stick pins in him!

    Here’s my craft obsession of the moment:

    http://wendymoondesigns.blogspot.com/2009/05/ive-got-basket-full-o-hexagons.html

  34. 35

    Bethany said,

    Fun fact: I work as an engineer during the day and a mama/wife/crafter by evening. Ok I guess it’s not all that fun…oh well.

    Happy Give-away Day!

  35. 36

    Melissa said,

    Something fun… lets see… I’m making dolls for Craft Hope http://crafthope.com/?p=129

  36. 37

    debra said,

    Wow, very cute items! I am working on two table runners, one for me, one for my daughter.

  37. 38

    Very cute little give away! Thank you for participating. I just finished two baby quilts and a queen size quilt using different variations of Swanky from Moda.

  38. 39

    Kate C. said,

    Haha!! I love sewing with a twist! The bird is great! My favorite book is Pride and Prejudice.

  39. 40

    Kami Mandell said,

    I love the little pincushions you have made, The ladybug and bumble bee are to die for. I found the same tutorial and have been making them, but mine involve the crazy quilt stitching and not such cute piecing. I may have to try something new next time.
    Here is a link to a blog on some of mine. http://kamisquilting.blogspot.com/2009/05/mothers-day-reminisces.html

    Thanks for the giveaway. If I have a choice, I am willing to let someone else win the very cute penguin pincushion, and I’ll take the crafty stuff. Mostly cuz I am making way too many pincusions of my own.
    Kami

  40. 41

    Marie-Jolie said,

    Let’s see here… something fun to tell about. I was at the park this morning with my boys and I was knitting on a little chevron sock while sitting at the dock by the pond. The ducks were being so cute… just puttering around and dipping themselves into the water and sticking their tails up in the air. It was adorable. It put a smile on my face and reminded me how much I love summer, and how thankful I am to be a knitter- because my projects can go with me outside.

    Favorite book… who has time to read when there’s knitting to be done? But when I do read, it’s usually Jane Austen. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the chance to win! leafygreenes at gmail dot com

  41. 42

    Jane Marsching said,

    these are great giveaways…
    i’m loving making my baby dresses right now, even if she does grow out of them too quick!
    Thanks

  42. 43

    Liz B said,

    Here’s something neat: participate in Old Red Barn Co’s Quilt Along, and enter to win a sewing machine! I know, right!!
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/oldredbarncoquiltalong2009/
    Thanks for the chance at your giveaway, those fabrics are gorgeous.

  43. 44

    limor477 said,

    Fun for me is making cooking with DD.

  44. 45

    Jen M said,

    I’m going to try to crank out a few summer dresses for my 4 year old. My first time, but I’ve found lots of fun tutorials!

  45. 46

    Ariane said,

    I recently bought a sewing machine and I’m going absolutely nuts checking out blogs for project ideas. So many interesting things to make!

    Love the fabrics in the grab bag. πŸ™‚

  46. 47

    Leigh said,

    That bird is adorable, I love bottle cap pin cushions!

  47. 48

    MoniQ in WI said,

    Oh, that grab bag!!! I’m still fairly new to the land of craft blogs…and completely addicted to reading and dreaming!

  48. 49

    Leanna said,

    Both are great giveaways! Thanks for the chance. I love reading Pioneer Woman!

  49. 50

    Del said,

    I’ve been working on a new travel bag for an upcoming beach trip. I love the pincushion! Thanks for the chance!

  50. 51

    Susan said,

    Great giveaway, but I think the best part of giveaway day is finding wonderful new blogs to visit! Thanks for the chance to win and the muffin recipe!

  51. 52

    I love the birdie! I have a book that I have been meaning to set down and make pin cushions out of for gifts. So I would love to win your bird. Sooo cute!

  52. 53

    Ruth said,

    Your pincushion is so cute! (And I’m also going to have to try that muffin recipe). Let’s seeee… something fun or interesting. Oh, check out this vintage embroidery patterns group on flickr for inspiration: http://www.flickr.com/groups/341081@N20/

  53. 54

    Sandy said,

    That has to be the sweetest little bird I’ve ever seen!

  54. 55

    Mel said,

    That is the cutest birdie!!
    I’m working on a hexagon quilt and a Dear Jane quilt, stayin pretty busy!
    Enjoyed your blog!

  55. 56

    kelli said,

    That bird is so cute. I don’t know if I could put pins in his head, though.

  56. 57

    Baba said,

    Oh I love the grab bag! My favorte fabrics are toille, yet I don’t have any, LOL. We live 4 hours drive from the nearest fabric store so I don’t get a chance to get anything new very often. Thanks so much for the chance.

  57. 58

    Jerri said,

    Adorable birdie! Reminds me of a not so cute bird I once knitted

  58. 59

    Rachel said,

    Well, I’m somewhat new to quilting and I’ve just discovered the joys of paper piecing. I’m not sure if that is interesting to anyone but me though! Also, the picture of that peach dessert is making me hungry!

  59. 60

    Charissa said,

    Giveaway #2 looks like it’s right up my ally. I’ve been looking for some fabric like that! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  60. 61

    Tanya said,

    Beautiful giveaway!

    I have a book to share (crafty related) that I have been using lately and LOVE – Sew What Skirts. πŸ™‚

  61. 62

    Tara H. said,

    Great giveaway! Love the little bird! My daughter and I really lilke the Mary Frances Sewing Book, so cute.

  62. 63

    BethAnn said,

    looks like a lot of great stuff in that grab bag. those muffin on the last post look awsome something I’ll have to try. One of my new favorite blogs that I check out regularly is Attic24

  63. 64

    Kristi said,

    The grab bag looks great! I am a “I really want to learn soon” sewer – I think that is the step before “beginner”!

  64. 65

    Ann said,

    Rhubarb Custard Pie
    1 cup sugar
    3 Tbs flour
    2 Tbs milk
    2 eggs
    little nutmeg
    3 cups rhubarb

    Put it in a pie crust, I just do one bottom crust.
    And bake 400 for 50 minutes.

  65. 66

    craftytammie said,

    adorable bird! I am reading a short book right now called the Great Good Thing – it’s an interesting unusual story about the characters in books and our dreams. Hard to explain. Thanks for the chance to win!

  66. 67

    Ashlee said,

    Love the goodies!

    That ribbon would make wonderful hairbows for my little one!

  67. 68

    Amanda F said,

    The bird pincushion is just adorable. If I don’t win one, I definitely will be learning how to make one!! Thank you for the offer!

  68. 69

    Mama Lusco said,

    What an adorable pincushion! I usually sew clothing for my girls and make handbags, but am trying to learn hand embroidery. Thanks for the giveaway!

  69. 70

    Marsel said,

    Looks fun, especially the grab bag! My favorite book series is the Red River of the North series by Lauraine Snelling.

  70. 71

    Cindy said,

    Hmm..Something fun. Our family got the most adorable black lab puppy in December. She’s now 7 months old and it’s impossible to be near her and not smile and be happy. Impossible! Her name is Lily.

    I love to sew, and that blue bird is adorable.

    Thanks!

  71. 72

    Alana said,

    i just bought myself my third copy of “Big Sur” by Kerouac. it’s my favorite book ever and i had worn out the other too from reading them so frequently/taking them on planes/beaches/cars, it literally goes everywhere iwth me.

  72. 73

    Anna said,

    I LOVE that poor little bird. Beautiful! πŸ™‚

  73. 74

    Laura Hartog said,

    Just darling! I love that little birdy pincushion, and the fabric is fantastic. I am up to my ears in fused plastic these days–made some for my daughter’s Brownie troop, and they made sit-upons out of the fused sheets. Then I got the brilliant idea to make a yard waste/weeds tote/bag from the actual bags from mulch, compost etc. Fuse fuse fuse! But I’m ready to be done, and am daydreaming over a Bento Box quilt. Thanks for letting me join the drawing!
    Laura
    lwrn2@yahoo.com

  74. 75

    indywriter said,

    Is it possible to pick just one favorite fabric? I don’t think so… so I’ll share a blog: http://www.babytoolkit.blogspot.com. Thanks for the lovely giveaway!

  75. 76

    Shannon said,

    I just joined a new quilt group and we are doing a round robin. The fabric I put in to start were some of the octopuses from Heather Ross and a pirate baby fabric. Do you think that was the right first impression to make? I’m a little worried about what they are doing with it. Especially the lady who seems to work with civil war prints a lot who has it right now.

  76. 77

    robyn said,

    My most recent interesting cooking has been in the realm of yogurt making! I actually posted about it on my manypots.blogspot.com blog for my mother in law and she had success with it today! She sent me pictures an everything! It’s fun because it’s so simple, but it still feels like magic!

  77. 78

    Heather said,

    I love your Blue Birdie Kristen! Maybe I’ll figure our how to make one myself one day!!

  78. 79

    Andrea R said,

    That little birdie is almost too cute for the punishment he will get! Also the fabrics are gorgeous. What lovely taste! Cheers and thanks for participating!

  79. 80

    Nancy said,

    Love that little birdie pincushion! Love to win. Interesting thing about me–well, I once flirted with a celebrity, only to realize he was flirting with the woman BEHIND me! Ugh!

  80. 81

    Me too, me too….please include me for the little birdie give-away!!! SO CUTE!!!

    http://peaceloveandpugs.blogspot.com/

  81. 82

    Sarah said,

    Fun! I’d love to win either of these lovlies! Although the pin cushion is ADORABLE!

  82. 83

    I just discovered the joys of ironing on a new linen-blend skirt and some perpetually wrinkled pants. I think this may become my new favorite chore.

  83. 84

    Amanda said,

    I am a newbie, so it would be great to win this! I am currently learning how to make children’s newsboy hats. I am actually surprised at how much i love to sew!
    Thanks for the chance to win! And for being so generous!

    Yehudim(at)aol(dot)com

  84. 85

    Corey said,

    That little birdie is just the cutest little guy! what a great giveaway!

  85. 86

    emtdlb said,

    You are so creative. That bird is just the cutest. The most fun project I have done recently is making my toothbrush rug from fabric strips. They are so much fun, but they can take awhile. Thanks for the chance!

  86. 87

    Jennifer said,

    I love the grab bag, too. The ribbon is adorable! I’m always on the hunt for cute ribbon. Thanks!

  87. 88

    Karissa said,

    Nice giveaway! That birdie is too cute! My favorite quilt pattern is Atkinson’s Yellow Brick Road. I am flying to visit my grandmother next week and we are going to make some quilts together using that pattern. I’m so excited to be able to do this!

  88. 89

    Katie said,

    Great giveaway! I won some Anna Maria Horner fabric recently and just finished my first quilt. Now I’m hooked!

    kldemare at yahoo dot com

  89. 90

    brenda said,

    Great blog. love the birdie. I made Margaret’s sling bag from Oh Frannson.

  90. 91

    Keri said,

    So cute!

  91. 92

    Very cool giveaway! I love the grab bag!

  92. 93

    Laura said,

    oh, I’ve never seen a bottle cap pin cushion before – what a sweet bird! I can always use fabric and notions too! Thanks for the giveaway!

  93. 94

    Heather said,

    Beautiful things – not sure I’d want to put the pins in the bird, though. Might give my 3 year old some ideas… ~H

  94. 95

    Cathy M said,

    I love your little pin cushion. I am however now drooling over those peach muffins. Gotta get me some! I belong to an applique guild and think they would enjoy some at our meeting on Saturday.

  95. 96

    HeidiMonkey said,

    I love the grab bag of goodies! I’d use it to liven up my sewing area!

  96. 97

    Anya said,

    Right now I’m working on a Dear Jane quilt (among other things). Thanks for the chance.

  97. 98

    Sharon said,

    The Bluebird is just adorable! Thank you for entering me in your generous giveaway! here is a favorite recipe for this time of year especially after a day of gardening πŸ™‚

    Meadow Tea

    2 cups fresh mint leaves, washed and packed (I like to use Spearmint. It’s not a s strong as peppermint)
    2-2 1/2 cups sugar
    4 cups water
    Garnish: fresh mint

    Place all ingredients in a medium stockpot. Boil for 5 minutes; turn off heat and let stand for 5 hours. Strain through a coffee filter lined sieve, squeezing excess liquid from mint leaves.

    To serve: add 1-cup concentrate to 2 quarts of cold water in a pitcher. Serve with ice and a garnish of mint. Makes 4 cups concentrate; about 8 servings per one cup concentrate.

    *Concentrate freezes well πŸ™‚

  98. 99

    emilyflippinmaruna said,

    Hi,

    I’m going to the duck pond today with my kiddos since it is so nice outside. (Fun) If you want to check out my blog, The Handmade Experiment you can see all the great projects I’ve been up to. Mostly kid’s clothes and toys. I’ve committed to hand making all the presents I give this year and have caught the crafting bug in the process. (kind of fun AND interesting!) πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the opportunity!

    http://emilyflippinmaruna.wordpress.com
    flip_em8@hotmail.com

  99. 100

    Lisa Otis said,

    I would love to win this! I noticed that your lower post is a Peaches n cream mufffin recipe. I have a very similar recipe… one of our favorites. I think I’ll make those today. I have a Parent group coming to discuss school issues and I can serve those.
    have a wonderful day!

  100. 101

    Tora Consolo said,

    How flippin cute are they! Hope I win…

  101. 102

    Louise said,

    Thanks. I’m learning to love crochet. Slowly.

  102. 103

    marine_bio said,

    Grab bags are great, you never quite know what you will get till you get it. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  103. 104

    Jessica said,

    I’m busy reading “Animal Vegetable Miracle” a food book…very interesting!

    Thanks for entering me! I’d love to win!

  104. 105

    DebbieKL said,

    Mmmm those muffins look yummy! I’m currently working on a quilt for my son – I modified another pattern to make it crib sized, but it came out much bigger. Oops! Since he’s almost two I may go ahead and make it twin sized. But will I ever get it done?

  105. 106

    Dacia said,

    I have been working on repurposing a men’s shirt into a dress for my daughter! it is oh, so cute!!!

  106. 107

    Emily Callan said,

    Awesome giveaway!

    I am 8. I am learning to sew. It’s fun.

    Check out my giveaway too. http://www.sewingsister.blogspot.com

    My mom also has a giveway at http://www.sewingwithtrudy.blogspot.com

  107. 108

    Martha said,

    This is too cute. That birdie makes me laugh. Something interesting (to me at least)–I’m going to Yellowstone for the first time this summer and can’t wait. I have thoughts of Jellystone (Yogi) constantly but my husband doesn’t remember the cartoon.

  108. 109

    Jennifer said,

    My current favorite fabric line is My Folklore. Especially the brown kaleidescope-y one. I love it so much!

  109. 110

    ivyjane said,

    That little bird actually reminds me of the Prinny Penguins in the Disgaea video game series. From which came my nickname bestowed upon me by my husband. So lovely!

  110. 111

    AS said,

    Currently working on a blue quilt…. love the grab bag!

  111. 112

    Liz said,

    My kids would love the little bird, but I would be happy with the fabric, so either way is good!
    Thanks!!

  112. 113

    Jen Orme said,

    Cute pincushion! Thanks for the giveaways. I love this blog for crafty ideas,recipes: http://www.mygratitudeattitudes.blogspot.com

  113. 114

    Marianne Ogg said,

    How fun! I love the bird! Here’s a little fact about me… I can’t stand my toes without nail polish. They look naked! =)

  114. 115

    Bonnita said,

    Cute birdie, and fun bad of goodies. I’m working on some cute girlie things for my great niece.

  115. 116

    Jessica T said,

    What a cute pin cusion! I LOVE grab bags.

    As far as current reads go I am on a three year memoir kick. Some of the more interesting ones lately have been “Dishwasher” and “The Year of Living Biblically”.

  116. 117

    Tammy said,

    I have just started doing mini quilts and love it! You get to see how blocks will lay out, and try different fabrics out.
    I would love to win your giveaway.
    Tammy

  117. 118

    Laurel said,

    Love the pincushion! The other goodies look terrific also. I have to admit, I got totally distracted by the Peach and Cream Muffin recipe and had to go print it out. Thanks for giving!

  118. 119

    Lisa said,

    I love the birdie and the crafty goodies look great too! Thanks for the chance to win πŸ™‚ As for recent projects, I’ve been working on a knitted dress for my daughter and some little activity books for my nieces.

  119. 120

    Jeanne said,

    Your stuff is really cute, love the accessories, right up my artsy/fartsy alley. Something interesting about me, I am a MOM of 3 Daughters, oldest 25, twins 24, they are 16 months apart and we didn’t know we were having twins until the first one was born!!!!!!!!! HOW IS THAT FOR EXCITING. now all is good, they can walk, eat and dress themselves. πŸ™‚ All kidding aside, now it is great fun, they are all best friends and we can all 4 goof around together and have a good time. Thanks for sharing, come and visit my giveaway>>>>you will probably like it, hand dyed wool and a wool applique kit.

    http://jeanne-justjeanne.blogspot.com/

  120. 121

    Jenny said,

    Oh my goodness, that pin cushion is adorable! Love it! My favorite cooks book is anything done by the Cooks Illustrated people, you can never go wrong with one of their recipes

  121. 122

    amy smart said,

    What cute goodies! That bird is adorable.

  122. 123

    Fawnda said,

    Thanks for the giveaway! I just started a DIY blog about 2 months ago, so I have been working on lots of projects! Here is the link: http://www.firefliesandjellybeans.blogspot.com

    thanks for hosting!

  123. 124

    amanda said,

    What a nice giveaway! Thanks for the chance to win! I have been sewing like crazy. lately..mostly b-day gifts πŸ™‚

  124. 125

    mab said,

    What a great giveaway! The pincushion is too great.

    Something interesting…? Tonight I found a book at Borders that I had to get. It’s called How Starbucks Saved My Life (or something like that). It’s about a guy who had it all, lost it all, and found meaning while working minimum-wage at Starbucks. It looks interesting. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the chance to enter!
    -Mandi

  125. 126

    urban craft said,

    what a sweet birdie! Thanks for a cool giveawaY.

  126. 127

    Greentechmama said,

    the pin cushion is sooo cute. i don’t think anyone can have too many pincushions!

    I am planning my boy’s graduation party, maybe I’ll try to make velvet cake/cupcakes using beets for the red color…featured in the View…

    thanks
    greentechmama at gmail dot com

  127. 128

    I am currently working on a quilt for my nephew, it’s a blue tumbling block rag quilt, it’s cute so far, just need to finish it! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Cassie
    cmdoduck(at)gmail(dot)com

  128. 129

    Junglewife said,

    Oh how fun! i would love to win this!!!

  129. 130

    Erin said,

    Thanks for entering my giveaway. Your bluebird is adorable.

  130. 131

    Knittindiva said,

    The bluebird is adorable!!! I just started hand quilting, and this would be a lovely little cushion to put my needles in. The battle would be, keeping it away from the kids our little Bichons.

  131. 132

    Faith said,

    That grab bag is adorable. I love the fabrics. My soon-to-be mother-in-law has been teaching me to quilt and I would love to work those fabrics into a quilt or maybe a small handbag for one of my bridesmaids. I am trying to make them presents instead of buying them. Your blog is really cute. I will definitely follow it from now on.

    my email is: fharr@umd.edu

  132. 133

    Shannon said,

    I would love either of these!

    And for fun, here’s a skirt that I’m dying to make! http://amazingmae.blogspot.com/2009/05/ruffled-linen-skirt-for-her-you-not.html

  133. 134

    sheila said,

    I love the birdie!!!!
    I am currently quilting a dresden plate quilt, working on a mitten penny rug and sewing my first pair of socks (kind of scared to do the heal turn part)…while I take care of my 1 year old grandson 9 hours a day. πŸ™‚

  134. 135

    Heather said,

    I would love the grap bag…

    I have a cute etsy shop I have been working on lately. If you want to check it out! http://nogginsnbobbins.etsy.com

    heathervanhoof[at]yahoo[dot]com

  135. 136

    Candice said,

    Thanks for this opportunity- I love the bird! I’ve been working on several baby quilts and am getting ready to start a new one!

  136. 137

    Misty.Creek said,

    That birdie is adorable but I don’t think I could stick him in the head! πŸ™‚ I’m trying my hand at refashioning a t-shirt; not much of a clothing sewer. I needed to move the shoulder seam up and that made the armhole too big for the sleeve and then I’ve had to take it up in the shoulder to fit the sleeve in and now the neckhole is nonexistant so I’ve got to cut a new hole for my head and hope I don’t chop into the print on the front, which is the whole point for getting the tee at the Thrifty shop in the 1st place!

  137. 138

    Jody said,

    I would love the birdie or the grab bag. The fabrics are beautiful!

  138. 139

    Michelle said,

    my favorite recipe is here: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Pecan-Spice-Layer-Cake-with-Cream-Cheese-Frosting-238083

    A bit time-consuming, but you will NOT be disappointed, I promise. (and I used regular cream cheese icing instead of making the lemon zest).

    Also, great giveaway, thanks for the opportunity to win!

  139. 140

    Ali said,

    what a great giveaway!
    What should I share? I am super excited because in the last week, I have eaten peppers, tomatoes and strawberries all grown in by me in my backyard. I’m so proud.

  140. 141

    melissa said,

    I love to share recipes! Love that super cute pin cushion by the way! I am still using the little tomato I got in my first little sewing kit.

    Here is MY own recipe (yes, I actually came up with this one) for my favorite black bean soup.

    2 cans chicken broth
    1/2 yellow onion
    1/2 green pepper
    1 can diced tomatoes
    2 cans drained and rinsed black beans
    1 can shoepeg corn
    1/2 smoked sausage (I’ve been finding the skinless kind which is way less fatty)
    minced garlic (to taste)
    cumin (to taste)
    chili powder (to taste)
    salt and pepper (to taste)

    Saute the onion and green pepper on the stove (I just use pam spray, but you can use butter). Add the sausage and cook until slightly brown. Add tomatoes, corn (drain), and beans. Meanwhile heat up chicken broth in a pot. After about 7-10 minutes puree 1/2 of mixture in a blender or food processor. Add everything to the chicken broth, stir and serve with Jiffy cornbread muffins (and don’t forget to add brown sugar to the tops of those! Yummmm) Our family favorite πŸ™‚

  141. 142

    kelly t said,

    how fun!! I like your site- Great giveaway! I can’t have too many wips or I go crazy!
    kelly titmus at hotmail dot com

  142. 143

    Shelly said,

    What a great giveaway, and that grab bag looks so special! I just finished a nursing cover and was proud of my work, so that’s my favorite project as of late. I’m new to the sewing scene, so I’m eager to get started on some new projects.

  143. 144

    melanie said,

    Your giveaway items are fabulous!! Something interesting…I am addicted to etsy!

    Thanks for the chance to win.

  144. 145

    Richelle F said,

    Today I finished making a fabric covered storage box. It was a fun project!

  145. 146

    Jenny said,

    Thank you for a chance to win either prize. Im always looking for new fabrics. I just made lasagna yesterday from a recipe in Wondertime magazine using cream cheese and it was really great. I think the recipe was from December issue. Must try it!
    Jenny

  146. 147

    bylulu said,

    the pins through the birds head and the x’s over his eyes make me laugh and sad at the same time. I’m terribly conflicted. Also interestingly enough I’m in the middle of 4 different sewing projects!

  147. 148

    Karen said,

    Thanks for a great giveaway! Grab bags are so fun! And those muffins looks so yummy. I might have to try them! Interesting fact…My son just got married and they are living only 5 minutes away for the next little while and I am thrilled!

  148. 149

    Jenny said,

    Still watching High School Musical as I enter to win!
    I think I’m going to win!
    pjjllive(at)gmail(dot)com

  149. 150

    Tina Mackey said,

    I am going to make your recipe for Peaches N Cream muffins for breakfast in the morning. How could I look at a picture like that and not?? I wonder if you could substitute strawberries since we just picked some fresh the other day. Hmm, I’ll let you know if it works out!

  150. 151

    Amy Hunter said,

    Your giveaway is so nice!! I have spent way too much time since Wed. entering all the wonderful giveaways. Wed. my kids ate mostly chips and cookies, they had a great time because I spent so much time with the computer. After Sunday I can go back to being a good mom again.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  151. 152

    jkundhi said,

    Love all of the grab bag goodies!

  152. 153

    I’m just starting to sew. What is a good sewing machine to start with?

  153. 154

    Stephanie said,

    The pin cushion is far to cute to pass!! I’m loving my Happy Scrappy Brooches http://www.moobeardesigns.blogspot.com and my favourite blog is http://www.buttonsbyloulou.blogspot.com very addictive

    xo Steph ps we’re having a give away too..YAY

  154. 155

    Kim said,

    I really like to sew and my fun fact is that I am beginning to teach my daughter to sew. Thank you for your giveaway.

  155. 156

    steph said,

    Such a lovely giveaway! My favorite print that I’m currently drooling over is the Heather Ross Princess and the Pea – I need to get my hands on some before its all gone!

  156. 157

    Teresa said,

    Wow! What a great giveaway! Thanks! I’m working on a quilt for Lutheran World Relief

  157. 158

    JJ said,

    I love that little birdie pin cushion! Our peach tree is bursting with peaches so that’s what’s been on my mind recipewise…peach cobbler, canned peaches, peach leather, peaches in salads, you name it!

  158. 159

    Liz said,

    Check out Squid37.com for some really cool design opportunities. They create all sorts of things from t-shirts to posters to buttons to weddings invites- you name it!

  159. 160

    Angela_P said,

    My current favorite blog found recipe is here:
    http://berlinswhimsy.typepad.com/berlins_whimsy/2009/03/fizzy.html

    So Yummy. but its a sipping drink, imo not a chugging drink πŸ˜‰

  160. 161

    Vanessa said,

    I am drooling over those muffins!! =P
    thanks for the giveaway.

    my current favorite recipe for summer: pasta salad! I don’t know how many times I have made it this last month. http://nnnnessa.blogspot.com/2009/05/scrumdidlyumptious.html

    enjoy!

  161. 162

    Mary Bruno said,

    Lovely giveaway! I noticed your from Maryland, I grew up there (in annapolis) I am on the west coast now and miss the blue craps and old bay seasoning!! Thanks for the chance

  162. 163

    Megan L said,

    Right now my favorite thing to sew is yoga mat bags (finished 10 today) but I feel a utility apron binge coming on….

    I would feel very lucky to win this giveaway!

    Thanks for the opportunity! Megan

    http://www.apiarydesigns.etsy.com

  163. 164

    Sarah said,

    wow, that pincushion is absolutely adorable! πŸ™‚
    what great giveaways!!!
    i’ve been working on finishing a few baby gifts…mohawk hoodies and a totoro bonnet. hopefully i’ll finish them before the kids are in college…

  164. 165

    Ginny said,

    I love that birdie! Some blogs I love tipjunkie, dollar store crafts, Inspirational & Today’s creative blog πŸ™‚

  165. 166

    Breanna said,

    Your poor little bird looks terrible abused he needs a good home! Ha Ha

  166. 167

    Julia said,

    What a cute bird! I think I might feel bad putting pins in his head…

  167. 168

    Jennifer said,

    Love the idea of the goody bag. right now I’m working on a small series of cottage embroideries for my daughter’s room. Some little embelishments would be awesome!

    jmoore3333(at)gmail(dot)com

  168. 169

    rae said,

    what’s interesting is how much sleep i am willing to loose to keep entering these giveaways!! your offerings are wonderful and very generous!! πŸ˜‰

  169. 170

    Lindsey said,

    Cute fabrics. Right now we are having a mommy/daughter sleepover at my house.

  170. 171

    Renee G said,

    Your little pin cushion is darling. I’m currently working on a summer tote bag to take to the beach.
    rsgrandinetti(at)yahoo(dot)com

  171. 172

    Jessica said,

    That pincushion is so sweet! With pins in he looks like he has spiky hair!

  172. 173

    Lauranie said,

    LOVE the little bird! So sweet! Sadly since the giveaway started I’ve worked on NOTHING, NADA, ZIP!! πŸ˜€ I’ve been responding to comments on my giveaway (you are invited by the way!) and am just now making it back to SMS to peruse the LIST!! But I have enjoyed tremdously finding and meeting all new blogs, yours included! Thanks for the generous giveaway!

  173. 174

    nana said,

    what if i share my new favorite web site? http://www.paperbackswap.com fun way to share books to read.

  174. 175

    Dani said,

    I’m fanatical over FQs!

  175. 176

    Kim Evans said,

    Here’s a funny anecdote for you:
    I am terribly crafty and have been known to watch A LOT of HGTV and those type of channels/shows. It always makes my hubby laugh when we go to a store and I will look at something and then look at him and say “I could so make that!”
    lol!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    ~Kim
    (btw, for #2 please!)

  176. 177

    thank you for a fun & interesting giveaway. I love the little birdie! I am reading “Outlander” by Diana Gabaldon for about the 20th time. I absolutely love her writing.

  177. 178

    Adriana said,

    Cute little birdie! It would also make a great cat toy! I am currently reading Run by Ann Patchett.

  178. 179

    Emily Callan said,

    Awesome giveaway!

    Hi. I’m 8, and I am learning to sew. My mom is teaching me. I have my own sewing blog. I am doing a giveaway too for four beautiful yards of fabric. I hope you will stop by. http://www.sewingsister.blogspot.com

    My mom is also doing a giveaway on her blog at http://www.sewingwithtrudy.blogspot.com

  179. 180

    Ingrid said,

    What a cute little pincushion!

  180. 181

    Michal said,

    Oh my gosh, I love the bluebird. What a sweet blog and generous giveaway.

    Something I’m working on right now is a lime green confetti baby quilt. It wasn’t coming along the way I wanted it to, so has become a lime green and white log cabin block…..sorta. I am calling it the “green confetti thrown outside and lost in the grass” quilt. *sigh*

    Take care. I hope I win. I need a pin cushion and I love loot in a grab bag. Can’t beat that.

  181. 182

    How sweet…the little birdie pin cushion…and the crafty goodies look so tempting too.

    My favorite recipe is really simple…homemade biscuits. Self rising flour, shortening, 1tsp sugar, dash of salt, milk. Stir your dry ingredients together, then cut in enough shortening (I use a pastry blender) till it’s crumbly like small pebbles or small gravel. Mix in enough milk till the dough comes together. Flour your hands, roll a small portion into a ball and bake at 375 for 15 min or until slightly brown. They’re perfect every time!

  182. 183

    LFinn said,

    Random fact: my first born (a girl) was born on my birthday. I think it is really cool right now, but I don’t know if she always will:-) I am currently working on my first quilt-like project, a baby playmat/quilt with Wonderland fabric, using a tutorial from Moda Bake Shop. It is lots of fun, and is helping me overcome my fear of quilting (I love to sew, am scared of quilts). Thanks for a great giveaway!

  183. 184

    jodie said,

    The grab bag is awesome! Thanks for the chance to win!

    Jodie
    jodcoz(at)yahoo(dot)com

  184. 185

    Kimberly said,

    My big project right now is a scrapbook/guestbook for my BFF wedding. On Saturday. I am 90% finished, thankfully. I have only 2 more days to finish it up since i have to get on a plane on Wed… πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the participating in giveaway day!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

