Peaches and Cream Muffins

muffintin

These are always a huge hit no matter where I take them. The recipe came from my mom (who got it from where, I have no idea) and was originally for a pie. I found that it works wonderfully as a muffin recipe and allows me to get nearly twice as many servings out of the same ingredients. This recipe results in dense, moist muffins that you can serve for breakfast or as a dessert. The bottom layer is cake-y, the middle layer holds in the peaches, and the top layer is creamy and rich. The only person I’ve met who hasn’t loved this is M, and that’s only because he doesn’t eat cheese.

filling

Peaches and Cream Muffins
yields 15 muffins

Ingredients:
20 ounces peaches (canned peaches are fine, but drain and reserve juice)

batter:
4.5 oz package vanilla pudding mix (NOT instant)
3/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3  tablespoons butter
1/2 cup milk
1 egg

cream layer:
8 ounces cream cheese
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons peach nectar (if you’re using canned peaches, just substitute 3 tablespoons of that)

topping:
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon sugar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Combine the batter ingredients and beat 2 minutes. Set aside. (Do not prepare the pudding, just use the dry mix.)
Beat the cream ingredients 2 minutes until fluffy. Set aside.
Dice peaches to about 1/4-inch size. If using canned peaches, drain and reserve juice.
Prepare muffin tins with paper muffin cups.
Place 1 tablespoon of the batter into the bottom of 15 muffin cups.
Place 1 tablespoon of peaches into each cup, on top of the batter.
Using a measuring spoon or cookie scoop, place 1 rounded tablespoon of the cream into the center of each muffin cup. Do not spread around the cup, this will allow the batter ingredients to bake up the sides and contain the cream.
Mix together the 1 tablespoon sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and sprinkle over the top of the cream.
Bake in a preheated 350 degree (F) oven for 15 minutes or until tester inserted into muffin batter comes out clean.
Allow to cool in the pan before removing.
Share with friends and enjoy!

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    peaceliving said,

    These look delicious! I wonder if I could substitute nectarines, as my tree is full of them and they’ll be ready to eat next week! This looks perfect!

  2. 2

    Jo said,

    Holy peachy creamy yumminess! I found your blog through the Sew Mama Sew giveaway and was so drawn in by the yummy looking muffins I had to say thanks for sharing this recipe! 🙂

  3. 3

    dionne said,

    I came for the giveaway but got sidetracked by this AWESOME recipe!
    Cheers,
    Dionne

  4. 4

    Susan said,

    I agree…the heck with the giveaway, just give me the muffins! Yum!

  5. 5

    Leslie said,

    oh my goodness…i grew up eating these as pie. It was my friends mothers recipe….making them muffins is genius. I can not wait to try it.

  6. 6

    Kiki said,

    Thanks for all of the comments! Let me know how you like these if you decide to try them.

    And to peaceliving, I bet these would be great with nectarines!

  7. 7

    Oh Kiki! Those look wonderful! I have to try them this weekend!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

