Fat Quarters

It’s been a week of fat quarters flying off the shelves- both incoming as well as outgoing. I was lucky enough to win a stack of fat quarters from Sew Mama Sew– and just for leaving a comment on their fabulous blog! The theme of the week was blue, so I received six different blue fabrics. Very pretty- I can’t wait to use them for a project!

sewmamasewfabricstack

sewmamasewfabric

I’m also participating in a fat quarter swap over at Sew Mama Sew. I mailed out a fat quarter to four different people and will get four in return. I must admit that I was a little nervous about signing up because I’m new to the fabric world and I’ve never cut a fat quarter before. I wasn’t sure that I’d be able to cut precisely enough and would make a mess of the whole task. Arm me with a box cutter, a t-square, and some mat board and I’m MacGyver (or Martha), but place a purple rotary cutter in my hand and suddenly I have performance anxiety! I decided I needed to learn at some point, and after comparing my almost-perfect fabric pieces with the ones from the stack I purchased from the fabric store, I realized that other people aren’t nearly as neat or precise as I am. Whether it’s the result of my anal-retentiveness or a product of my overpriced arts degree, I’m not sure. I’m just glad I managed to do it right. I do wish I had a bigger selection of prints to choose (and cut) from- I did have to rely on a couple of  pre-cut items for the swap. I also decided to make a coordinating “quilted” note-card for each fabric so that I could send a warm hello to these four ladies that I’ve never had any contact with before.

swapfabric

It’s hard to say which one is my favorite, but the bottom left fabric has butterflies and lady beetles on it and reads “girl bugs” which I think is just too ridiculously cute. And, it’s bright green, so that always gets extra points from me! I am so excited to see what my swap partners send my way!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    prizm99 said,

    Congratulations on the win! I’ve always seen giveaways like that, but never posted a comment. I should give it a try.
    I like the bottom left fabric best as well, how cute!

  2. 2

    ~julee~ said,

    Very pretty! I’ve been waiting patiently to see what you won, and sew mama sew didn’t disappoint!

  3. 3

    I love them all! That’s such a neat idea on exchanging fabrics. I guess we do it with coupons all the time – why not fabrics!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

