Hearts and Buttons

snowflakes

Snow. Ice. Sleet. Wintry Mix. Plows. Coldness. Never enough blankets. Constant shivering. Lounge wear. I’ve had enough, and earlier this week that darn groundhog just had to go and deliver the news that we can expect six more weeks of this stuff? As beautiful as it is, I’m sick and tired of it.

This week, like the parking lots and roads,  my crafting area has been a mess. It seems that with sewing or felt projects, I’m able to keep things fairly neat and tidy, but when it comes to paper crafting it looks like a tornado (or two) just passed through the area.

I’m convinced it’s because when I sew, I have a plan laid out and I’m able to stay organized. When I do paper crafting, I have none. Perhaps I should revisit sketching out project ideas so my room doesn’t look like this the next time I decide to make cards…

messydesk

Yikes- now that’s a messy desk! It got that way after hours spent working on these:

heartswithbuttons

Cards for Valentine’s Day. Some green, some pink. (I’ve learned that boys tend to not appreciate pink cards as much as girls do.)

I’ve also been working on a set of cloth napkins for my mom. They were supposed to be part of her birthday present, but that’s long passed now. I was then hoping to get them to her for Valentine’s Day, but that isn’t looking probable either. It seems like I’ve been working on these forever!

napkinsformom

And as if I didn’t have enough on my plate already, I have these on loan from the local library.

readingmaterial

With my energy levels having been at an all-time low, I’ve found that sometimes reading books and blogs about crafty things is almost nearly, but not quite, as exciting as sitting at a desk and making something. If I have to live vicariously through other crafters for the time being, so be it. The only problem is that now the list of projects I would like to complete is about a Gajillion lines long (possibly even longer than the latest revisions to the stimulus bill!) and my folder of crafty bookmarks is bursting at the seams.

If you’re interested to see what others have going on in their creative spaces, check out Kirsty’s blog and her list of links. Happy crafting!

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jody said,

    I think I’m going to go down and talk to Mr. Groundhog. This is rediculouse! We’ve gotten snow, on top of freezing rain (ice), then layered with more snow – that froze and then more snow on top of that! I wanna get a heat lamp, put on my sunglasses and pretend I am in California!

    I love your little Button Heart Valentines – they are adorable!

  2. 2

    Kiki said,

    Can I pretend with you? I’m so tired of the cold weather. I can’t wait to see the birdies come back ’round and the bulbs bursting through the ground!

  3. 3

    Alison said,

    Thank you for your kind comments. I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog – a great insight :D!

  4. 4

    Kirsty said,

    I love your description of the paper crafting tornado.

  5. 5

    peaceliving said,

    What a beautiful snowflake photo. To each her own, I guess…I was thrilled to get a bit of hail today, something that happens every ten years or so around here. I’m glad you found my blog so that I could find yours…very nice.

  6. 6

    der said,

    I wish I were 1/10th as creative as you! I can’t sew, knit, or crochet to save my life. 😦

  7. 7

    Janelle said,

    The napkins are going to be so cute!

    If you like sewing with felt, you might want to track down a book called “Warm Fuzzies” by Betz White. Lots of projects to make with felt from woolen sweaters and such. My DH got it for me for Christmas and it’s very inspiring.

  8. 8

    Alicia said,

    Isn’t it great getting a stack of craft books from the library? Then you can really browse through the patterns on your own time, instead of feeling rushed at Borders or wherever. I finally figured out our inter-library loan system a few months ago and I still love getting that call “the books you had on hold are available for pick-up.”

    Thanks for visiting my blog the other day! I just love yours & and going to be adding it to my blog-addiction-list. 🙂

  9. 9

    Kiki said,

    Thanks for all of the lovely comments!

    Janelle- I’ll have to check out that book. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Alicia- There really is nothing better than the notification that the books are ready! I browse our card catalog online at home and submit all of my requests that way. If they’re currently at the library it usually takes less than 48 hours for them to pull them from the shelves for me. I like being able to take my time with them, and then if there’s something I love I can go and buy it to have as a reference.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

