My Sewing Area

The week before last, the sewing/craft desk that I ordered from Walmart finally came in. I sent M to get it on that Friday night after he got home from work and got some dinner in him. Of course, I insisted on putting the darn thing together right then and there also, and was up well past midnight. The piece works perfectly in my office. I had a spot right under the window for it to go where it will get some nice light through the day, and I’ll have access to my desktop computer and other craft supplies in the closets. I promised a bunch of people some pictures, and took them last week but got busy with a weekend visit from my mom and this is my first chance to post anything. Ready for the tour?

wholeroom

This is the view of my office space from the doorway. It’s a small room- about 10′ by 11′ with a decent-sized closet. It houses a futon which we use for houseguests, but we’d eventually like to replace that with a smaller sofa bed of chair bed so the space opens up. Oh, and those awful curtains will be a vanishing act as soon as I find some fabric to fashion some new ones out of. I can’t stand the sight of them.

sewingdesk

As I mentioned earlier, the table sits nicely underneath the window and allows me to roll my desk chair easily from the computer desk to use while I am sewing or working on another craft.

ironingarea

On the opposite wall from the window is the closet. There is enough room in front of the closet for my to set up my ironing board. Ideally, I’d be able to set up the iron in front of the futon, but…

tucker-sewingbed

I have a four-legged friend who likes to follow me into the room and hang out or take naps on the futon while I work. We don’t need any accidents with the ironing board being knocked over should Mr. Tucker jump off because he heard the UPS man or something equally interesting to bark at.

closet

The closet is nice for storage. The rolling bins hold most of my paper-crafting supplies for scrapbooks or card-making, and also my yarn for crochet, and knitting.

closet-rear

There is also a lot of shelving up to hold other crafting and sewing supplies. The closet is as wide as the room itself, which is great for lots of storage. To the far left of the closet I have another shelving unit on the floor, which isn’t shown, but it holds bins and baskets with my tools, art bin, paint brushes, acrylics, etc. I also have enough room to store the ironing board in there so I don’t have to haul it in from another room, because if I’m being completely honest, the only ironing I do is when I sew!

table-open

Back to my sewing table…what I love most about it is that it opens up. There is a large shelf inside where I can stow away my machine in its hard case, so that I don’t have to worry about it being in the way or getting broken when we have company. The left side of the cabinet, which becomes the support for the extend-able leaf has a neat little storage system that’s great for stowing pin cushions, bobbins, pins, different machine feet, and other things that I need quick and easy access to while I’m sewing.

desk-storage

The right part of the cabinet has shelving where I can store my sewing basket, scissors, notions, my stack of felt, and thread box. I also keep my machine manual and reference book in there right now because I’ve been using them a lot lately and keeping them on the bookshelf means I’m constantly wheeling my chair over to the other side of the room to retrieve them. In time they’ll find their home on the bookshelf with my other craft, art, writing, and reference books.

sewingtable-open

Here is my workspace all set up just the way I like it. I keep a big empty plastic bin on the far left of the surface for small scraps of fabric that are of a size that I could potentially use them for another project, but aren’t big enough to be folded up and put back into my fabric pile. I like having my tools available to my right side so that I can easily grab a marking pencil or the seam ripper. (Usually the seam ripper, I seem to be using that most of anything!)

workspace

My favorite part of the room is when I’m working on a project, I can just leave it as is and I still have a place to eat dinner. Before, I was camped out on the dining room table and we’d either have to eat on the couch, or I’d have to clean everything off only to find it back to it’s original state as soon as the meal was over. It’s also been nice having all of my other crafty things in the same room, I find that I share some tools between different crafting mediums.

I would eventually like to move my old t.v. to the corner dresser that holds my office supplies and the guest linens. I’ve found that I really enjoy having a rainy-day DVD on in the background while I work. My last string of projects, I watched BBC’s Wives and Daughters series, and found it very soothing as I ironed seams over and over again and fussed about pins. The sound also helps cover up neighborly noise from upstairs.

Another addition that I’ve purchased but not yet hung, is a cork board for over the futon. Over my desk, I have a metallic bar where I can secure future project ideas or reminder notes with a magnet, but I found it was getting very crowded up there. It will be nice to have a place to tack up things that I find inspiring.

I hope you enjoyed the tour! I know it’s not much, but it’s my special place where I can let the creativity flow and not worry about the mess it makes all over the table tops and floors.

PS- If you’re interested in seeing more creative spaces, be sure to check out the link exchange over at kootoyoo.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    julee said,

    What a wonderful sewing/crafting room you’ve created! That little sewing desk looks perfect, and I love how you can hide your machine inside when not in use. I can’t wait to see what beautiful things you’ll be inspired to create in your new space. 🙂

  2. 2

    Kirsty said,

    I only iron for craft too – the clothes can fend for themselves.

  3. 3

    CameoRoze said,

    Looks like a great new table and an excellent working space. Your organization skills certainly show in your post. Can’t wait to see what you create there.

    Keepin’ Creative,
    Cameo @–>–>—

  4. 4

    Kiki said,

    Thanks all!

    CameoRoze- I may be organized, but I sure can make a mess when I’m working!

  5. 5

    Looks like an awesome, functional area! Good job!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

