Pin Cushion Projects

I recently discovered these tutorials about how to make a pin cushion out of a soda bottle cap, and immediately I knew I had to make one for myself.

Here she is atop one of the tea towels I’ve been working on. The only thing she’s missing is a smile…I’ll have to take care of that!

ladybug-pincushion

I wanted a slightly larger pin cushion, so I used a wide-mouth bottle cap like you would find on a sports drink bottle. I loved this project because it was mostly recycled materials. I used the stuffing out of an old pillow I’d been meaning to throw away/find a project for. The felt I found is an eco-felt, and it’s made of recycled plastic bottles. In addition to using a larger bottle cap, I also used a larger round of felt for the top and attached it a little differently than the tutorial suggests so I got a more rounded top.

I can’t wait to make another one to tuck in with my embroidery thread. I haven’t decided which design to do yet – perhaps a little cupcake…or a bumble bee?

To make your own, check out Jen’s Flickr tutorials here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/verybigjen/sets/72057594099768007/
http://flickr.com/photos/verybigjen/sets/72157594386788217/

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jody said,

    Awww she’s so cute! I love it! I am going to have to make one of these also – I sooo need one!

    And I love the idea of using an old pillow for the stuffing. I have two old pillows hidden away that have been waiting for the right project to come along so they can be re used.

  2. 2

    […] For the next week or so, she’ll be bunking with the bumble bee and lovely ladybug. […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

