Seeing Stars: Election Day Soup

beans-greens-and-stars

I hope if you are a registered voter you went out and did your civic duty today by casting your ballot. I’ve heard horror stories about some people waiting in five hour lines just to vote. I don’t know that I could have done it, and was quite lucky to get in and out at my polling location. Did you ever notice how rainy and dreary election day often is? M and I had originally planned to host a small election party here at our apartment but later found out that many of our friends had prior engagements. In a way I was glad because it meant I could rush home and change into some yoga pants and a long-sleeved t-shirt for the evening.

I had planned on trying this soup recipe that I copied out of The Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper, but wasn’t sure when I’d be able to get to it. After feeling gloomy and gray at the polls, I decided that tonight was the perfect time to test out the recipe. And if you know me, you know that I never follow any direction to the letter, so I of course made some substitutions based on what I had in my pantry. Would you expect anything else?

Without further adieu I give you Election Day Soup, adapted from the recipe Soup of Fresh Greens and Alphabets from The Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper cookbook.

Ingredients:
8 cups organic chicken broth
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 cup organic canned whole tomatoes, broken apart with your fingers (Muir Glen is delicious for this!)
2-3 large garlic cloves, minced
1 medium onion, minced
1 15-ounce can organic chickpeas, rinsed and drained
2 large handfuls kale, finely chopped, about 3 cups (the original calls for radicchio or endive, but I only had kale)
1/3 tight-packed cup fresh basil leaves, finely chopped
1/2 cup tiny pasta (I used Bionature organic pasta stars- available at natural foods markets)
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, to taste

1. In a 6-quart pot combine the broth, wine, and tomatoes. Simmer, uncovered, for 5 minutes. Add the garlic, onion, chickpeas, greens, and basil. Simmer, partially covered, for 20 minutes.

2. Stir in the pasta and simmer, partially covered, for 6 minutes or until the pasta is tender. Taste the soup for seasoning, adding salt and pepper as needed. Serve hot, passing the cheese at the table.

I served this with a slice of Italian bread from the loaf I baked on Sunday afternoon. It was delicious and hearty- perfect for a rainy day!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    I Voted! Didn’t have to wait in line too long – about an hour.

    Soup looks yummy! I will have to remember this one – winter is coming up and I love making soups in the winter!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

