Buzz Off

M was kind enough to climb the stepladder and retrieve my hummingbird feeder from the patio earlier today. The trough was empty and there were a few confused birds milling about in search of a sweet drink. I made some more sugar syrup and refilled the feeder so M could hang it back outside. Did you know that you’re not supposed to use food coloring anymore? The chemicals are bad for the birds. They’ll find the feeder on their own from the smell of the sweet nectar and the bright red of the feeder itself.

Unfortunately this immediately became a buzzing bee feeder instead of a hummingbird feeder. The hummingbirds are quick and I haven’t been able to take a picture of one yet. They hover for a quick drink and then speed off into the trees.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I have seen a few hummingbirds around my house. They are quick – but so cute. I want to get a feeder but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  2. 2

    flmom said,

    I bet the hummingbirds are gorgeous! We haven’t put out a feeder for them … yet. I have a feeling my oldest will campaign heavily for that this school year since we’re studying flying creatures.

    I have an award for you – http://a-skip-in-my-step.blogspot.com/2008/08/sharing-love-award.html


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

