My Newest Obsession: The Book Thing

I’ve heard about this place called The Book Thing of Baltimore from numerous people and finally had the time to check it out. For anyone who isn’t familiar with The Book Thing, it’s a place that puts unwanted books into the hands of people that want them. For free. You can take as many books as you’d like the only caveats being that the books are stamped to prohibit reselling and you must sign out with your name and how many books you’ve taken.

I must say was in love the moment I walked into the shop. Throughout a maze of rooms there were rows upon rows of books calling my name. The shop smelled of sweat, dust and old newspapers but had a familiarly sweet, musty smell that reminded me of my Grandmother’s basement. Since it was ridiculously hot and we parked a little ways away I decided to keep my book selections to a minimum and did not allow myself to bring home any novels. (Considering I already have quite the collection checked out from the library, anyway.) I did however, allow myself to a few cookbooks, some pattern making books (for when I finally learn how to sew), and a few writing books.

I wanted to rescue so many more books off the musty rickety shelves, but I will have to make another trip to do so. Perhaps when it’s a bit cooler, no?

My selections:
What If? Writing Exercises for Fiction Writers (1990)
The Practical Stylist (1969)
The Family Book of Home Entertaining (1960)
The New York Times Cookbook (1961)
Better Cooking Library Pie Cookbook (1964)
The Good Housekeeping Cookbook (1963)
The Art of Sewing- Exotic Styling (1974)
The Art of Sewing- Creative Design (1975)

I also just had to share something that I got a chuckle out of finding upon the pages of the Good Housekeeping Cookbook:

Dining Alone

The girl who eats alone should adopt the same techniques of dining as the family of two. In fact, for her the setting is even more important. She will want to make a firm, fast resolution never to eat a morsel unless the entire meal is ready, and to sit down at a set table or an attractively set tray. There’s nothing to be gained by eating “on the wing.”

Music, the type you like best, is a fine background, and occasionally candlelight adds the perfect just-for-one touch.

It’s a good idea to save the mail as a treat after dessert. Do cook a real dinner at least a few nights a week. It may seem like a lot of fuss and bother for a person living along, but dining out on a steady basis palls. And just slicing off some cold ham to eat with potato salad from the delicatessen will do nothing for building morale, the way a good hot dinner can.

Leave a Reply

