Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May

Recently, Jessie X posted an entry on her blog about blogging for her own benefit versus blogging for the benefit of others. After reading what she wrote I started thinking about my reasons for blogging. Am I a selfish blogger? Should I focus more on content geared to provide useful information to others?

I’ll admit that I thought about it for a long time- probably too long. It bothered me that I didn’t have an immediate answer other than the obvious, which is that I find it enjoyable. There had to be more. The answer found me the next day where most of the solutions to my creative problems find me (and the worst place to quickly write them down)- the shower.

For me, blogging is like singing in the shower. When I have a song on my mind or a hope in my heart it is second nature to have a moment of freedom where I tune out the world around me and express myself. That moment is private, and selfish. It comes naturally and it’s necessary. However, in my willingness to share those moments with others the act of blogging transforms itself into something unselfish.

I’d like to share a quote by the fictional John Keating, a character from one of my favorite movies, Dead Poets Society:

We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?

I think the same argument can be made about blogging. It’s a new era- people communicate with each other and document their lives in vastly different ways than we have in the past. I’m personally inspired by colors, shapes, textures, and as an artist I feel the need to capture these in everyday moments and pay homage to the beautiful, yet mundane tasks and activities that make up the seconds, minutes, and hours of my life. Blogging allows me to communicate these thoughts and ideas with people who I might otherwise have never met as well as people who are an important part of my life and my identity. My sincerest hope is that my readers to take something away from the words and images I share. To be inspired to garden, or do crafts, or cook a healthy meal. To simply live, and serve also as a reminder to live simply. To document moments that bring a smile to their faces. To pay attention to the world. To do something.

Why do I blog?

To tickle my identity. To exercise my mind. To force myself to look the world from a different perspective. Because I believe in the freedom and power of self-expression. So that I am reminded each and every day that life exists both within me and within the world around me. So that I may live with passion. So that I may contribute a verse.

So that the powerful play goes on and that I may contribute a verse.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    JessieX said,

    Rock on, KikiVerde. Rock on!

  2. 2

    Jin said,

    OOh maybe you need those toy writing things… you know, black bottom layer with
    static-y white layer? You could totally use that in the shower!

  3. 3

    Jin said,

    Why am I a weird plus-sign monster bunny? haha

  4. 4

    Kiki said,

    JessieX- Thanks for being the inspiration for this post!

    Jin- you always have the best ideas! I know exactly what you’re talking about. I’d probably go through one a day though 🙂 BTW WordPress assigned you a weird monster bunny picture because you don’t have an avatar here. So you get to be a bunny. Very befitting don’t you think?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

