So I’m Grumpy, Get Over It!

Stress does nasty and awful things to your body, mind, and spirit. Quite frankly, I’m fed up with being stressed out. Recently, I’ve even resorted to being one of those crazy downstairs neighbors who bangs on the ceiling with a broom (totally not my style) because the constant rhythmic pulse and thumping of rude upstairs neighbors’ music grates on my last nerve. I’m certainly glad they are happy and enjoying the space that they pay for, now I’d like to do the same with mine and their techno just doesn’t fit into the plan for me. As an aside- Does anyone know if the pulse of bass can make a cake fall? I’m convinced it does.

And as another aside- what will it take for Comcast to get it through their skulls that I am not interested in their phone service? :insert screaming smiley here:

It seems that no matter how much I try to simplify my life, the more stress I am under. I’m feeling like Sisyphus (So much so that I made an attempt at registering the domain Sisyph.us for a personal blog site, but decided that I needed to be a more positive thinker and burdening myself with a domain name such as Sisyph.us would not accomplish that) and I’m quite tired of everything feeling like a battle.

You can call me a whiner, or a complainer, or negative– but now hear this: I don’t care anymore! I have a right to feel like crap sometimes and as someone who tries to paint a smile on her face for everyone she meets and greets, I’m just tired of doing it. It’s hard trying to be happy and positive when things aren’t going well for me. I do see the silver linings, but I just don’t feel the need to wax poetic about them. Nor do I feel the need to go into an in depth diatribe about everything that is going wrong in my life right now. Suffice it to say that my being in a slump is putting it lightly. (If you’re nosy like me and really want to know everything that’s got my undies in a bunch, you can email me and I’ll gladly rant your ear off.)

I don’t know what else I can give up, so in an effort to do something different and regain my sanity I’ve decided to try adding things instead. Maybe it will work and maybe it won’t- I really don’t know. What I do know is that I cannot survive and be happy if I don’t change something.

Now where’s that damn boulder…?

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jin said,

    I was convinced I had elephants living upstairs back at good old RIT.
    stomp, stomp, Stomp, STomp, STOmp STOMp, STOMP, STOMP STOMP STOMP STOMP STOMP *Crash* *squeal*

    I did the broom thing a couple of times.

  2. 2

    Jen said,

    I feel your pain. I don’t know about your circumstances, but, in this area of the world, we are riddled with worries — the not-always-so-pleasant commute to work if you work in DC, finances, health, making time for our friends and families, keeping things done on our constantly updated to-do lists, etc.

    Those of us who don’t have a ton of money to shell out for a three-story house in the suburbs get the crappy end of the stick in that many of us have these noisy neighbors and can’t even come home to peace and quiet. We even get stress from those living around us.

    Girlfriend, I totally connect w/what you’re saying.

    Here’s my past experience.

  3. 3

    Laurie aka Coupon-Crazy said,

    I hope you’re having a better day! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

