Like a Fish

Whatever happened to the good old days where a group of friends could get together on a Friday or Saturday night to play card/board games, watch a movie, or go bowling?

I find that in this day in age I am so uncool because I don’t go out drinking and I would rather stay home on a Friday night. I’m not a spinster, or dull, or boring. So why is it that I just don’t seem to fit in anymore? Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying that I don’t enjoy going out for a Margarita with a girlfriend now and then, or having a beer with M at a sports bar while enjoying a good game. What I don’t understand is how one drink turns into four, five, or seven within such a short period of time.

I have no use for people who get sloppy drunk and then ask me for a ride home because I’m the only one around who managed to exercise some self control. And along the lines of exercise, they then turn the car ride home into an olympic marathon barfing session in the backseat. I have to say that I don’t give rides anymore. I’ve been told that I’m a bad friend to leave an intoxicated person at the bar to find their own way home. I’ve even been blamed before when such “friends” decided to get behind the wheel of their own car (“They could have killed someone! It’s your fault they drove– you should have taken them home!”)

Forget it. I’d rather sink M’s battleship or beat him at Phase 10. Maybe I’m boring but at least I maintain the respect of my friends, family, and most of all, myself.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Becky said,

    I am sooo with you on this. I never got the whole ‘sloppy drunk’ thing myself…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

